Compound Names

What Is Exenatide?

Exenatide is a GLP-1 receptor agonist made as a synthetic copy of exendin-4, a peptide first found in Gila monster venom. Approved in the US in 2005 as Byetta, it was one of the earliest drugs in the class and is labeled only for blood sugar control in type 2 diabetes. The FDA now lists its brand-name products as discontinued, the EU authorizations for Byetta and Bydureon ended in January 2026, and head-to-head trials found semaglutide cut HbA1c and body weight further.

Medical Supervision Required:Peptide Tracker is for private logging, reminders, inventory records, and education. It is not medical advice, dosing instruction, prescribing guidance, diagnosis, or a substitute for a qualified healthcare professional.

Key Takeaways

  • Exenatide is a synthetic version of exendin-4, a peptide from Gila monster venom. It was one of the earliest GLP-1 receptor agonists, approved by the FDA as Byetta in April 2005 for type 2 diabetes.
  • It comes in two forms: a short-acting solution injected twice daily before meals (2.4-hour half-life) and a once-weekly microsphere depot (Bydureon, Bydureon BCise) that takes about 10 weeks to wash out.
  • Over 56 weeks in SUSTAIN 3, semaglutide cut HbA1c by 1.5% and weight by 5.6 kg, against 0.9% and 1.9 kg on weekly exenatide.
  • EXSCEL, with 14,752 participants, showed weekly exenatide did not raise cardiovascular risk but did not significantly lower it either (hazard ratio 0.91, 95% CI 0.83–1.00).
  • Exenatide-specific risks include frequent injection-site nodules with the weekly form and rare antibody-driven thrombocytopenia, which can cause serious bleeding.
  • Byetta, Bydureon and Bydureon BCise are listed as discontinued by the FDA, and the EU withdrew Byetta and Bydureon on January 1, 2026. A generic twice-daily exenatide approved in 2024 remains listed.

Most people reading about GLP-1 drugs today meet exenatide as a footnote: the molecule that proved the GLP-1 approach could work as a medicine. Its story is still useful, because the twice-daily and once-weekly versions show how much a drug’s design, rather than its target alone, decides dosing, side effects and results.

This page draws on the FDA labels for Byetta and Bydureon BCise, the published trials and regulator records. It is educational and does not replace advice from a prescriber.

Exenatide at a glance What to know
Other names Byetta (twice daily), Bydureon and Bydureon BCise (once weekly), generic exenatide injection; synthetic exendin-4
Class GLP-1 receptor agonist
First US approval Byetta, April 28, 2005
Approved use Blood sugar control in type 2 diabetes; never approved for weight loss
Route Injection under the skin, twice daily or once weekly
Half-life 2.4 hours for the twice-daily form (Byetta label); the weekly form takes about 10 weeks to wash out
US and EU status Branded products listed as discontinued in the US; EU authorizations withdrawn January 1, 2026; a generic twice-daily form remains listed
WADA Not named on the 2026 Prohibited List
Main evidence gap No controlled trials in lean or resistance-trained people, and no head-to-head trial against tirzepatide

In 1992, John Eng’s group isolated exendin-4 from the venom of Heloderma suspectum, the Gila monster. Exenatide is a lab-made peptide of 39 amino acids with that same natural sequence, which overlaps only partly with human GLP-1.

A year later, Göke and colleagues showed in rat insulin-producing cells and islets that exendin-4 binds the GLP-1 receptor and switches it on strongly. That made it a candidate drug, but the bigger advantage was durability. In a lab study using rat and pig kidney membranes, human GLP-1 was degraded mainly through the enzyme dipeptidyl peptidase-4 (DPP-4), whereas exendin-4 held up several orders of magnitude better.

Stable is not the same as long-acting, however. Unlike semaglutide or liraglutide, exenatide has no fatty-acid side chain to hitch a ride on albumin, the main protein in blood. On its own it is cleared in hours, which is why the original product is injected twice a day and the weekly product needs a slow-release depot.

The Byetta label describes four main actions, all typical of an incretin-based drug:

  • Insulin. It boosts insulin release only when blood glucose is high, and it restored the early, first-phase insulin response in people with type 2 diabetes.
  • Glucagon. It suppresses glucagon when sugar is high but leaves the protective glucagon response to low sugar intact.
  • Stomach emptying. It slows how fast food leaves the stomach, which blunts the glucose spike after meals.
  • Appetite. It reduced food intake in both animals and humans.

The same molecule behaves very differently depending on how it is packaged. Byetta and the generic version are a plain solution, while Bydureon and Bydureon BCise trap exenatide in biodegradable PLGA polymer microspheres that release it slowly.

Feature Twice daily (Byetta, generic) Once weekly (Bydureon BCise, Bydureon)
Formulation Clear 250 mcg/mL solution in a prefilled pen Polymer microspheres suspended in a medium-chain triglyceride oil
Timing Within 60 minutes before the morning and evening meals Once every 7 days, any time of day, with or without food
Time to peak Median 2.1 hours after a 10 mcg dose Peak around weeks 6–7 after a single dose
Steady state Not applicable About 10 weeks
After stopping Measurable for about 10 hours Below 20 pg/mL about 10 weeks after the last dose
Boxed warning None Thyroid C-cell tumors in rats
Approved ages Adults Adults and children 10 and older (BCise)

Sources: Byetta label; Bydureon BCise label.

Both labels give a clearance of 9.1 L per hour. The 2.4-hour terminal half-life applies only to the twice-daily solution. With the weekly form, the release rate from the microspheres, not the peptide’s own clearance, sets how long it lasts. That 10-week tail matters for side effects and for anyone stopping or switching, a topic covered more broadly in how long GLP-1 drugs stay in your system.

Kidney function changes exposure

The kidneys filter exenatide and then break it down, so kidney function is the main factor that raises levels. According to the labels:

Kidney function Twice-daily form Weekly form
Mild impairment Exposure similar to normal Exposure 28% higher
Moderate impairment Exposure similar to normal (creatinine clearance 30–80 mL/min) Exposure 69% higher
Labeled cutoff Not recommended below creatinine clearance of 30 mL/min Not recommended below eGFR of 45 mL/min/1.73 m²
End-stage disease on dialysis Exposure 3.37-fold higher; single 5 mcg doses poorly tolerated Not recommended

Liver impairment has not been studied. Age, sex, race and body mass index did not meaningfully change the drug’s kinetics.

HbA1c is a blood test that reflects average glucose over roughly three months. In the 24-week monotherapy trial on the Byetta label, 232 people started with an HbA1c of about 7.8%:

Group HbA1c change Reached HbA1c under 7% Weight change
Placebo −0.2% 38% −1.5 kg
5 mcg twice daily −0.7% 48% −2.7 kg
10 mcg twice daily −0.9% 53% −2.9 kg

Added to metformin for 30 weeks, 10 mcg twice daily cut HbA1c by 0.9% (no change on placebo) and weight by 2.6 kg (0.2 kg on placebo).

Does the weekly form work better?

For blood sugar, somewhat. In the open-label DURATION-1 trial, 295 people took either 2 mg weekly or 10 mcg twice daily for 30 weeks. HbA1c fell 1.9% with the weekly form and 1.5% with the twice-daily form, weight loss was similar, and hypoglycemia did not increase.

The Bydureon BCise label reports a 28-week comparison in 375 people. HbA1c fell 1.39% on BCise and 1.03% on Byetta, but weight fell slightly less on BCise (1.4 kg vs 1.9 kg).

What about people without diabetes?

The obesity evidence is thin. Rosenstock and colleagues randomized 152 adults with obesity (average BMI 39.6) but no diabetes to 10 mcg twice daily or placebo for 24 weeks, both alongside a diet and activity program. Those on exenatide lost 5.1 kg vs 1.6 kg on placebo, or 3.3% more body weight lost than placebo. Among participants with prediabetes, glucose tolerance returned to normal in 77% vs 56%.

No controlled exenatide trial in lean or strength-trained people turned up in the sources reviewed, so its effect on muscle in that group is unknown. For the broader question of lean mass during GLP-1 treatment, see GLP-1 drugs and muscle loss.

Two large head-to-head trials show why newer drugs replaced it:

Trial Comparison Size and length HbA1c change Weight change Tolerability
DURATION-6 Exenatide 2 mg weekly vs liraglutide 1.8 mg daily 911 people, 26 weeks −1.28% vs −1.48% Not summarized here Nausea 9% vs 21%
SUSTAIN 3 Exenatide ER 2 mg weekly vs semaglutide 1 mg weekly 813 people, 56 weeks −0.9% vs −1.5% −1.9 kg vs −5.6 kg GI effects 33.3% vs 41.8%; injection-site reactions 22.0% vs 1.2%

In DURATION-6, exenatide failed to show it was non-inferior to liraglutide. In SUSTAIN 3, semaglutide produced roughly three times the weight loss. The pattern is consistent: weekly exenatide was easier on the stomach but weaker on glucose and weight, and far more likely to irritate the injection site.

No randomized trial comparing exenatide directly with tirzepatide, a dual GIP and GLP-1 agonist, was found in the sources reviewed. Readers comparing older GLP-1 options can also look at dulaglutide and lixisenatide, which have their own pages.

EXSCEL: safe for the heart, not proven protective

EXSCEL randomized 14,752 people with type 2 diabetes, 73.1% of whom already had cardiovascular disease, to weekly exenatide 2 mg or placebo. Median follow-up was 3.2 years.

Outcome Exenatide Placebo Hazard ratio (95% CI)
Major cardiovascular events 11.4% 12.2% 0.91 (0.83–1.00)
Cardiovascular death 4.6% 5.2% 0.88 (0.76–1.02)
Nonfatal heart attack 6.3% 6.5% 0.96 (0.85–1.09)
Nonfatal stroke 2.3% 2.6% 0.86 (0.70–1.06)
Death from any cause 6.9% 7.9% Not reported

Exenatide met the safety test (non-inferior, p under 0.001) but did not reach statistical superiority (p = 0.06). Acute pancreatitis, pancreatic cancer and medullary thyroid carcinoma rates did not differ significantly between groups. Semaglutide’s own outcome trials are summarized on its page.

Parkinson’s disease: a promising signal that did not hold

GLP-1 drugs showed nerve-protective effects in lab and animal models, which led to trials in Parkinson’s disease:

Trial Design Result
Phase 2, Athauda et al. 2017 62 patients, 2 mg weekly or placebo for 48 weeks, then a 12-week washout Off-medication motor scores 3.5 points better on exenatide at week 60 (95% CI −6.7 to −0.3)
Phase 3, Vijiaratnam et al. 2025 194 patients at six UK hospitals, 96 weeks Motor scores worsened 5.7 points on exenatide vs 4.5 on placebo (p = 0.47); no evidence of disease modification

In June 2026, The Lancet attached an Expression of Concern to the phase 3 paper. The notice does not reverse its negative finding, but the paper should be read with that caution.

Every exenatide product is approved only as an add-on to diet and exercise for blood sugar control in adults with type 2 diabetes, and BCise also in children 10 and older. Byetta itself was not shown to work in a trial of 120 children aged 10–17.

Product US status (Drugs@FDA) EU status (EMA)
Byetta NDA 021773: discontinued Withdrawn January 1, 2026
Bydureon NDA 022200: discontinued Withdrawn January 1, 2026
Bydureon BCise NDA 209210: discontinued Not listed separately
Exenatide injection (Amneal, approved November 2024) ANDA 206697: prescription, listed as reference standard Not applicable

The EMA notes that AstraZeneca requested the EU withdrawals as a commercial decision to stop selling them; the agency does not cite a safety problem.

Labeled doses

These are the doses on the US labels, listed for reference rather than as guidance:

  • Twice-daily form. 5 mcg twice daily, given in the hour before the two main meals of the day, spaced at least about 6 hours apart. It is never taken after a meal. After one month the dose may be raised to 10 mcg twice daily, so the labeled maximum is 20 mcg per day.
  • Weekly form. 2 mg once every 7 days. Unlike the twice-daily form, it has no step-up period; the article on dose titration explains why many GLP-1 drugs do.

The labels say not to combine exenatide with other exenatide-containing products.

Stomach and gut

Nausea is the most frequent complaint and rises with dose. In three 30-week add-on trials on the Byetta label (963 people on Byetta, 483 on placebo):

Side effect Placebo Byetta
Nausea 18% 44%
Vomiting 4% 13%
Diarrhea 6% 13%
Feeling jittery 4% 9%
Dizziness 6% 9%
Headache 6% 9%
Indigestion 3% 6%

Nausea tended to fade with time, and 3% stopped treatment because of it. On the weekly form, 8.2% of 526 people in the BCise trials reported nausea. Neither label recommends exenatide for people with severe gastroparesis, and both describe postmarketing reports of acute kidney injury, occasionally requiring dialysis, usually when vomiting or diarrhea had caused dehydration.

Lumps at the injection site

The microspheres in the weekly form often leave a small nodule under the skin. Nodules were the single most common side effect of BCise at 10.5%, and 23.9% of people had some injection-site reaction. Postmarketing reports include abscesses, cellulitis and tissue death, occasionally needing surgery (Bydureon BCise label).

Antibodies and low platelets

Antibodies against exenatide are common. Across the 30-week Byetta trials, 38% developed low levels and 6% high levels; in 1–4% of patients across trials, the antibodies weakened the drug’s glucose-lowering effect.

The more serious immune risk is drug-induced thrombocytopenia, in which antibodies destroy platelets and cause bleeding that can be severe or fatal. Anyone who has had this reaction must never take exenatide again. With the weekly depot, the platelet drop may last around 10 weeks after the final injection. Anaphylaxis and angioedema have also been reported.

Thyroid warning on the weekly form

In a two-year rat study, extended-release exenatide increased thyroid C-cell adenomas and carcinomas at every dose tested. Whether this applies to people is unknown, but the weekly products carry a boxed warning and are contraindicated with a personal or family history of medullary thyroid carcinoma (MTC) or multiple endocrine neoplasia type 2 (MEN 2). The twice-daily product has no boxed warning; its label notes benign C-cell adenomas in female rats and no tumors in mice.

Other label warnings

  • Low blood sugar. Rare on exenatide alone (3.8% vs 1.3% on placebo, none severe) but common with a sulfonylurea (35.7% vs 3.3%). The labels suggest considering a lower sulfonylurea or insulin dose.
  • Pancreatitis. Reported in 0.4% of BCise trial patients, with fatal cases reported across the class.
  • Gallbladder events. 1.9% vs 1.4% on placebo in EXSCEL.
  • Aspiration under anesthesia, because food may stay in the stomach longer.
  • Heart rate rose by an average of 2.4 beats per minute on BCise.

Because exenatide slows the stomach, it can delay or reduce absorption of pills taken around the same time. The Byetta label reports:

Drug Effect with Byetta Label advice
Oral contraceptive taken 30 minutes after Byetta Peak ethinyl estradiol down 45%, levonorgestrel down 27% Take contraceptives and antibiotics at least 1 hour before the injection
Acetaminophen with or up to 4 hours after Peak levels 37–56% lower Shows the general delay in absorption
Lovastatin 30 minutes after Total exposure about 40% lower Not specified beyond the data
Warfarin No INR change in a formal study, but postmarketing reports of raised INR with bleeding Check INR more often
Insulin or sulfonylureas Higher risk of low blood sugar Consider lowering their dose

The contraceptive finding matters for anyone relying on the pill for pregnancy prevention. Animal studies in mice and rabbits showed harm to the fetus and newborn, and the label reserves use in pregnancy for cases where the benefit justifies the risk.

The labels list these as reasons not to use exenatide, or as situations where it is not recommended:

  • a prior severe allergic reaction to exenatide or its ingredients;
  • a history of exenatide-induced immune thrombocytopenia;
  • for the weekly forms, a personal or family history of MTC or MEN 2;
  • severe kidney impairment, at the cutoffs in the kidney table above;
  • severe gastroparesis.

The trials measured outcomes that are also available in ordinary care. HbA1c, body weight and kidney function (creatinine clearance or eGFR) are the main numbers the labels and trials refer to. For people also on a sulfonylurea or insulin, glucose readings are the practical check for the hypoglycemia risk shown above, and people on warfarin are told to have their INR checked more often.

Some things are specific to exenatide. With the twice-daily form, timing relative to meals is part of the label, so logging injection time against the morning and evening meal is meaningful. With the weekly form, injection-site nodules are common enough that noting the site, and any lump, redness or pain, helps when discussing reactions with a clinician. Unusual bruising or bleeding warrants prompt medical attention because of the platelet risk.

The long washout of the weekly form also affects interpretation. A side effect or a change in weight in the weeks after the last injection may still reflect exenatide, because levels take about 10 weeks to fall below the measurable limit. If you switch to another GLP-1 drug, a GLP-1 tracking log that records dates of the last and first doses keeps that overlap visible. A log can show a timeline; it cannot by itself show which drug caused a change.

  • Is exenatide still available?

    The branded products are being phased out. Drugs@FDA lists Byetta's main application, Bydureon and Bydureon BCise as discontinued, and the EU authorizations for Byetta and Bydureon ended on January 1, 2026 after AstraZeneca chose to stop marketing them for commercial reasons. Amneal's generic twice-daily injection, approved in November 2024, remains listed for prescription use.

  • Does exenatide cause weight loss?

    It produces modest weight loss but was never approved for weight management. In a 24-week trial in adults with obesity but no diabetes, people on exenatide lost 5.1 kg compared with 1.6 kg on placebo. In the head-to-head SUSTAIN 3 trial, weight loss on semaglutide was roughly triple that on weekly exenatide.

  • What are the side effects of exenatide?

    Nausea is the most common, reported by 44% of people on twice-daily Byetta in add-on trials compared with 18% on placebo, along with vomiting and diarrhea. The weekly form often causes lumps at the injection site. Less common but serious risks on the labels include pancreatitis, kidney injury after dehydration, severe allergic reactions and antibody-driven low platelet counts.

  • How long does exenatide stay in your system?

    It depends on the form. The Byetta label gives a half-life of 2.4 hours, with the drug measurable for about 10 hours after a dose. For the weekly form, the Bydureon BCise label says levels drop under 20 pg/mL roughly 10 weeks after the final injection.

  • Is exenatide the same as Ozempic?

    No. Both are GLP-1 receptor agonists, but Ozempic contains semaglutide, which carries a fatty-acid chain that lets it bind albumin. Exenatide lacks that chain, so it needs twice-daily injection or a slow-release depot. In SUSTAIN 3, semaglutide lowered HbA1c and weight more than weekly exenatide.

  • Can exenatide be used with semaglutide or other GLP-1 drugs?

    The exenatide labels say not to combine it with other exenatide-containing products, and the sources reviewed here contain no trial testing exenatide together with semaglutide, liraglutide or tirzepatide. Any change between GLP-1 drugs is a prescribing decision for a clinician.

  • Did exenatide work for Parkinson's disease?

    A 62-person phase 2 trial reported a small motor-score difference in favor of exenatide, but the larger 194-person phase 3 trial found no benefit over 96 weeks. In June 2026, The Lancet attached an Expression of Concern to the phase 3 paper.

  • Is exenatide banned in sport?

    The WADA 2026 Prohibited List does not name exenatide, and it does not list GLP-1 receptor agonists as a group. It is a prescription medicine but not a controlled substance.